On Android devices, you will receive a “push notification” on your device to let you know you have received a TigerConnect message. This comes in the form of an audible ringtone and a visual notification. For more information regarding supported Android Operating Systems and devices click here.
- Banner notifications (top of screen)
- Lock Screen Alerts – Version 5.x and newer
New messages can be accessed in the notification bar at the top of your Android device’s screen, while the screen is turned on, by pulling down from the top of your device’s screen or tap on the TigerConnect app icon to open the app and view your new messages.
Repeat Push Notifications
Repeat Push Notifications are a feature of the TigerConnect mobile application that sends a persistent notification to the user’s device until the message is read. Repeat Push Notifications do not apply to the TigerConnect Web Console.
When Repeat Push Notifications are turned ON for your account, you will receive a notification every 2 minutes until the message has been opened on your end in the TigerConnect application. If the initial notification is sent to the device after the 2-minute timeout, a notification will repeat 10 (ten) times, every two minutes, until the message is opened by the recipient.
Delivery Escalation is a Premium Feature of TigerConnect that allows iOS and Android mobile users in areas of low to no connectivity to receive notification of new messages via SMS. Delivery Escalations do not apply to TigerConnect Web Console-only users.
When Delivery Escalations are turned on, an SMS message is sent to the phone number attached to a user’s TigerConnectc account when they are logged in to the mobile device only and a message remains in Sent status for 5 (five) minutes. SMS is used, as messages sent via SMS can be received in cases of low data connectivity (SMS charges may apply).
Messages that are sent from TigerConnect to users that are not logged in to their TigerConnect are received by a service called Fast Deploy. Fast Deploy is a secure way to communicate with anyone in your organization’s corporate network, whether or not they are logged in to TigerConnect. When a user is logged out of TigerConnect, a secure message link will be sent via email and/or SMS (either will have to be enabled by an Administrator in their TigerConnect account to receive a Fast Deploy).
The link can then be opened on your computer’s web browser, as well as any smartphone with a web browser. This is a great way to be able to send messages to users that are using Blackberry and Windows phones, which do not have a native TigerConnect application.
NOTE: While logged out, users can reply to Fast Deploy messages that are sent directly to them once, however, new messages cannot be initiated until the user logs into TigerConnect. Additionally, Fast Deploy messages are single-view only. If the message is viewed from the email/SMS link a second time, they will receive a message stating the message was previously read.
When logged into the web console, you will see a badge in the upper right-hand corner of avatar within the specific conversation on the right hand side of the Web Console with the user, as well as in the organization dropdown directly above the conversation list. The badge will remain there until you click on the conversation or initiate a response to the user.
Posted in: Android/Web - Messaging